Applied Mathematics

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Welcome to the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee of the Division of Applied Mathematics! 

Our departmental Diversity and Inclusion Committee meets bi-weekly. Our goals are to develop plans to improve climate and increase diversity and inclusion. We will also work on a revision of the 2016 departmental diversity and inclusion action plan (follow the link to view this plan). There is also a website devoted to the Academic Department DIAPs. Please feel free to reach out to us!

In Fall 2022, the Applied Math diversity, equity, and inclusion committee consists of Teressa Chambers, Juniper Cocomello, Stuart Geman, Emma McFall, Bjorn Sandstede, Peter Sentz, Moyi Tian, and Rosanna Wertheimer.

If you have any concerns, ideas, or suggestions, please reach out to us! Our Applied Math Comment Box allows you to leave comments/suggestions and to report incidents anonymously to the department.


The Division of Applied Mathematics is committed to fostering a diverse and inclusive community in the department. Our goal is to ensure that the right conditions are in place for each person to achieve their full potential. Inclusion should be reflected in our department’s culture, practices, and relationships so that a diverse community can flourish. 

The Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee of the Division of Applied Mathematics is charged with assisting with the implementation and monitoring of our diversity and inclusion programs. Specifically, the committee will meet regularly to 

  1. assess progress towards the DDIAP plan and reviewing the climate in the Division;

  2. address or alert the relevant departmental officers or OIED to DEI related concerns;

  3. carry out tasks assigned to the committee in the DDIAP;

  4. recommend best practices and policies regarding DEI to the chair; 

  5. plan and coordinate departmental DEI events; and

  6. communicate best practices, findings, and recommendations to the APMA community.

Link to Google document for public minutes